±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

English Schools Senlis Area
Last post by asorrentino in Education on Jan 28, 2019 at 11:03:48

Café Polyglotte - Chambly
Last post by delitalang in Chit Chat on Jan 04, 2019 at 14:33:20

Carte de sejour
Last post by sasieb in Legal & Finance on Jul 27, 2018 at 12:28:44

Richmond Language Institute cherche professeurs
Last post by Richmond in Language on Jun 22, 2018 at 10:02:42

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 26, 2018 at 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Last post by opse in Kids on Dec 21, 2017 at 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Sekhar123
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 799

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Photo Gallery
02: Forums
03: Accueil
04: Calendar
05: Calendar
06: News Links
07: News Links
08: News Links
09: News Links
10: Statistics

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

If it jams - force it. If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.

-- Murphy

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | P'tit Bouchon, Le (I)

P'tit Bouchon, Le (I)

Le P’tit Bouchon – a review to remember..

So this was to be the 2nd outing for the newly inaugurated Chantilly dinner club. Following last month’s safari into the depths of Montmartre, where most of us spent half the night looking for parking and the other half trying to find our cars (squeezing in a brief visit to a tourist karaoke joint in between), this was destined to be an altogether more civilised evening…or so I had thought.

The restaurant is situated pretty much in the middle of nowhere somewhere in the Oise, and so collectively all 16 of us had to invoke the full capacities of our respective GPS devices to reach the starting point for the evening’s festivities. Needless to say nobody arrived on time, and our pre-dinner aperitif session was further extended due to one of the guests having an accident en route (“ I was only following the Tom Tom she pleaded….”) which gave the evening an additional exhilarating boost.

Ah,,, and now to the restaurant itself, a small 24 seater cosy little place with a bohemian student feel in terms of both ambience and décor. Given our excessive numbers (what credit crunch ?), and hence need to take two thirds of the restaurant’s Saturday evening capacity, we were required to have a fixed menu (a selection of 2 options for each course) and were seated in two tables of eight (for some unfathomable reason a single table of 16 was beyond feasibility). This deviation therefore required some last minute adjustment to the undocumented seating plan and hence several of the wives whispering requests not to sit next to so and so…which of course I completely ignored.

The food was generally very good, nothing flash but basic food with a slight twist in terms of presentation and cooking style. I must admit I would never imagine a carpaccio of courgettes would be as delicious as it turned out to be. Also, the duck came in some kind of coconut sauce and was equally surprisingly stupendous. Our €40 fixed price meal included wine (1/2 a bottle per person) - a very drinkable white Bourgogne and an unremarkable, but quite acceptable, Bordeaux for the red gluggers. The dessert creation was a fusion of chocolate and ice cream with a bizarre (and unmemorable) name. I recall the service being pretty good, everything arrived on time and at the same time….what more can you want?

For some unknown reason most of the other guests left during our main course, not to return, at least not that same evening. The restaurant is run by a husband and wife team who have been there for 3 years and provide the restaurant with its lovely cosy and intimate feeling…and for good measure they threw in several shots of heart warming Calvados for those of us paying the bill (an added late night, and completely unnecessary, boost that I noticed somewhat the following day).

Overall, and adopting a consistent scoring methodology with the club’s inaugural review, I would rate the evening as follows: food – 8/10; ambience and service: 9/10; overall quality of evening 9/10.

And remember your GPS Wink

28 Rue Corot,
60128 Mortefontaine
Tel: 03 44 54 31 48

Title: P'tit Bouchon, Le (I)
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Dec 10, 2008
Hits: 10246
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.
(1 person has found this review helpful.)

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©